Subramanian Swamy, Sidhu, Suresh Gopi, Swapan Dasgupta nominated for Rajya Sabha

BJP leader Subramanian Swamy, former Lok Sabha member Navjot Singh Sidhu and former member of the erstwhile National Advisory Council Narendra Jadhav were Friday nominated by the Narendra Modi government to the Rajya Sabha. The other nominees are Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi, journalist Swapan Dasgupta and boxer Mary Kom.

There were a total of seven vacancies, but the government filled six of them. The seventh nominee, held up at the eleventh hour, will be named soon. Those whose names are doing the rounds include film actor and vocal saffron activist Anupam Kher and TV personality and long-standing party sympathiser Rajat Sharma.

The names of the new nominees were disclosed by a Home Ministry spokesperson, who said a formal notification would be issued shortly. The nominations are designed to bring people associated with literature, science, sports, films, media, art and social service to the Upper House.

President Pranab Mukherjee nominated the six personalities from different fields to the House of Elders following a recommendation of the Narendra Modi government, a Home Ministry spokesperson said.

Sources: ENS


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here