Modi launches online portal commemorating gallantry awardees

On India’s 71st Independence Day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched a special online portal dedicated to the gallantry award winners. The online portal has a detailed database of all the awardees from 1950 till 2017.

The database showcases the names and photographs of the awardees, along with details of the unit in which they served or commanded. It also includes the year in which they were given the award and a citation.

The awards, granted by the Ministry of Defence, include the Chakra series which is divided into two parts. War Time gallantry awards include the Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra and Vir Chakra, while the Peace Time gallantry awards include the Ashok Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to his Twitter handle to announce the launch of the portal – “In remembrance of our heroes who have been awarded gallantry awards since Independence, launched the site”

The portal can be accessed in both English and Hindi. It also gives a detailed description about the selection criteria for the awardees. It lists the eligibility criteria and also has a PDF about the rules and regulations for the awards. It also offers interesting insights into the design of the medals and ribbons that are given to the awardees.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here