Five get death, seven sentenced to life imprisonment in 7/11 train blasts case

A Mumbai court on Wednesday awarded death penalty to five and life sentence to seven others, all convicted in the 7/11 serial blasts in Mumbai suburban trains which killed 189 people.

Twelve people were convicted and one acquitted by the Maharashtra Control of Organised Crime Act (MCOCA) court on September 11.

Those awarded the death penalty are: Kamal A. Ansari, 37, Ehtesham Siddiqui, 30, Faisal Attaur Rehman Sheikh, 36, Asif Khan alias Junaid, 38, and Naved Hussain Khan, 30.

The seven other convicts awarded life in jail are: medico Tanvir A. Ansari, 37, Mohammed Sajid Ansari, 34, Sheikh Mohammed Ali Alam Sheikh, 40, Mohammed Majid Shafi, 30, Muzammil Sheikh, 27, Soheil Mohammed Sheikh, 43, and Zamir Ahmed Sheikh, 36.

The prosecution had earlier demanded capital punishment for eight persons of the 12 convicted, while it sought life imprisonment for the remaining four.

Seven blasts took place over a period of 11 minutes on trains plying the western line of the suburban railway network in Mumbai on July 11, 2006. At least 189 people were killed and over 800 injured.

The eight-year-long trial concluded on August 19, 2014 and Special Judge Y.D. Shinde pronounced his judgement against 13 prime accused on September 11, 2015.