Cabinet Reshuffle: New faces in the Ministry

The President, Shri Pranab Mukherjee, the Vice President, Shri M. Hamid Ansari and the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi with the newly inducted Ministers after a Swearing-in Ceremony, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on July 05, 2016.

On September 03, 2017, the Modi Ministry has taken a step to reshuffle thereby representing transparency. This being the third and the last reshuffle, is a chance that the government is taking to support itself in the 2019 elections.

The defense ministry has now been shifted from the reign of Mr. Arun Jaitley and given to Mrs. Nirmala Sitharam, whereas the former Railway Minister Mr. Suresh Prabhu, has now been endowed with the Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

While a half a dozen ministers have been asked to quit, two former bureaucrats, one retired diplomat and an ex-police commissioner have been inducted in the ministry which can be seen as an indication of the Prime Minister’s focus on professionalism and administrative experience.

The new minister for the department of Coal and that of Railways, is Mr. Piyush Goyal and Mr. Nitin Gadkari has been given the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways; Minister of Shipping; and Minister of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation.

The Hon’ble Prime Minister, Mr. Narendra Modi has kept various departments to himself, including the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space; and All important policy issues along with all the other portfolios that have not been allocated to any other Minister.

As the list goes on, it seems that this reshuffle is a grand step representing the thrust and efficiency of the government. All the ministers are to take oath, in the presence of Mr. Ram Nath Kovind in the Rashtrapati Bhawan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.